Day School – History

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text el_class=”inspirations-text”]The School was founded by the Late Principal N. D. Nagarvala and the Late Dr (Mrs.) Erin N. Nagarvala on June 18th 1947 in a residential bungalow at No. 4, Boat Club Road, Pune. Mr. & Mrs. Nagarvala realized that the children of middle class parents especially those from rural parts of Maharashtra, find it difficult to get quality education at an affordable residential school. They believed that most middle class parents have brilliant children, with the potential to be successful & outstanding citizens given the right opportunities.

Originally the school was named “The National Military School”, however on the advice of The Education Department the word “Military” was dropped and the School was re-named “The National Model School”.

As the number of day scholars increased, it was decided to separate the day school from the boarding school. Initially the Day School was only up to Std. IV which was very inconvenient for parents. Therefore, in 1990 permission was obtained from the Education Department for Std. V and subsequently the first S.S.C. batch passed out in March 1996.

It was only after the untimely demise of Dr. (Mrs.) Erin N. Nagarvala that the name was changed, in honour of her devotion and dedication to the school. The school was renamed the Dr. (Mrs.) Erin N. Nagarvala School at the renaming ceremony on 15th August, 1985.

The school is administered by a Board of Governors who form a part of The National Education Society” The Chairperson, Mr. N.K. Mahajan a founder member at the inception of the school, continues to play a big role in making the School what it is today.

The Society runs two co-educational institutions; one for the boarders and another for day scholars.

The Day School is situated in the heart of Kalyani Nagar, just minutes away from the Boarding School. It is a two storied building with large well lit and ventilated classrooms and a large playground.

The day school consists of the following units:

  1. Pre – Primary School ( L.KG & UKG )
  2. Primary School (Std. I to VII    )
  3. Secondary School ( Std. VIII to X )